This forum has been archived. Please visit the new art forum.

Agent - What to do?

Discuss anything related to art - technique, theory, business, and more.

Agent - What to do?

Postby DryJack » Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:09 am

Hi. I recieved an email today from a German agent named Uwe Luserke. He explained that he has seen my artwork here and is interested in working with me. Has anyone recieved a similar mail, or does anyone work with Mr Luserke and have any advice? Is this mail legitimate? I have no experience in this area and am not sure how to proceed so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
DryJack
Registered Member

Postby shadowgirl » Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:34 am

copy/paste the email to here? There's a few that go around that are bad.
shadowgirl
Registered Member

Postby DryJack » Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:37 am

Hi. Thanks very much for your reply. This is the email I recieved

Dear Paul Harper,
Just discovered your artwork on Epilogue and was quite impressed. You are a highly professional artist! Now
I am an agent, representing artists and writers here in Germany and all over Europe. Among my art clients you will find people like Todd Lockwood, the Hildebrandt brothers, Dan Dos Santos, Chris McGrath, Kelly Freas, Michel Bohbot, some very good artists from Eastern Europe (Vladimir Bondar!) etc. And I am always looking for other really good book cover artists. Naturally, I could only offer illustrations for which YOU own the copyrights (not like the games publishers who buy world rights). Still, there may be a lot?

Here in Germany there is my main market, of course. Most publishers here buy already finished artwork from abroad - it 's cheaper than giving out original assignments. (The bigger paperback publishers pay 3-400 Euros for a cover, smaller publishers partly much less.) But for work which you have already done - every cover sold would be a nice addition to your income ...
By the way, I am also selling to the Czech Republic, and other countries ...